Reading and Discussion

Exploring Ideas through Books

Booker Prize Winners

Established in 1968, England’s Booker Prize is awarded annually to a citizen of the U.K., the Commonwealth, Ireland, Pakistan, or South Africa who has written the year’s best novel according to a panel of critics, writers, and academics. In a short 35 years, the Booker has achieved an air of dignity and respect that rivals even the 86-year-old Pulitzer Prize. Graham Swift, who won the Booker in 1996, singled it out as the finest accolade a writer can receive. “It’s the one which, if we’re completely honest, we most covet.”

Books in this Series

  • Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things
  • J. M. Coetzee, The Life and Times of Michael K.
  • Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin
  • Michael Ondaatje, The English Patient

Available Facilitators

How to Book this Series

Please browse the list of available facilitators above. Then contact your chosen facilitator to discuss the timing and other details of the series. Finally, select the “Book this Series” button and fill out our online┬áReading & Discussion Request Form.


Please contact Richelle Franzoni at (802) 262-1355 or .